Skip to main content

Lishmann Fellowship awarded

By 10/09/2021No Comments

Congratulations to the 2021 recipients of the Lishman Fellowship – Kierra O’Grady (RCSWA-Broome) and Julian Atlas (RCSWA-Albany).

Established in 1997, Lishman Health Foundation was named in honour of the life and service of Dr Val Lishman. Dr Lishman was the first specialist surgeon to practise in the South-West region of WA Australia and was a lifelong proponent and supporter of the concept of regional health research to benefit regional populations.

The $5000 Lishman Fellowship, inaugurated in 2019, is awarded biannually to two RCSWA student research projects. This funding is to go towards the research project and can be used for resources required to complete the project or in the dissemination of results once completed such as a presentation at a conference or to support the publication of a paper.

In this video, recipient Kierra O’Grady talks about her research project ‘Coverage for Diabetic Eye Care in the Kimberley region according to population-based needs’.

Kierra is supervised by Associate Professor Angus Turner and Dr Caitlyn White.

Fellowship recipient Julian’s research project (a group effort with Priya Fisher) is titled ‘Quality of life effects of iron infusion for pregnant women in rural general practice’. He is supervised by Dr Carly Roxburgh.